Schiessler-Bader Award

Schiessler-Bader Award History and Recipients

Established in 1987 after Terry Schiessler passed away, the DFOA established the Terry Schiessler Award to honor his memory. Terry spent 30 years as an administrator, teacher, coach and sports official in Denver.

Stu Bader was a long-time football official in Denver.  He was not only an outstanding official but also spent countless hours mentoring newer officials and had a genuine love for the game.  After Stu’s sudden passing in 2016, it was decided his name should be added to this award in honor his officiating legacy.

This award is presented annually to a fellow official and DFOA member. The official shall have officiated at least 10 years.

Note: There were no recipients in 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011 or 2012.

2022-Ken Beltran
2021-Scott Saucke
2020-Kirk Russell
2019-Lawrence Chavez
2018–Karl Kramer
2017–Curt Brouwer
2016–Rick Rouse
2015–Sal Marini
2014–Tim Fitzgerald
2013–Dan Weikle
2009–Tony Giardina
2006–Mike St. Onge
2005–Steve Heuer
2004–Dave Hitchens
2003–Dave Bowman
2002–Steve Hall
2001–Larry Bonicelli
2000–Sam Molinaro
1999–Ed Lujan
1998–Ron Scholes
1997–Dennis Markusson
1996–Kent Payne
1995–Dr. Bob Pyle
1994–Bob Peck
1993–Bill Cox
1992–Jim Schaeffer
1991–Bud Schoepflin
1990–Bob Meschko
1989–Ron Capra
1988–Steve Usechek & Chuck Schiell
1987–Bob Roy