Ben Gregory Award

Ben Gregory Award Recipients

Established in 1998, The Ben Gregory Award is given to a retired coach who was a great facilitator of sportsmanship toward opponents as well as officials. To be eligible for nomination, recipients shall be retired from coaching for a minimum of two years.  Nominees are presented by a special DFOA committee and selected by a majority vote from the committee.  The award is presented at a DFOA area meeting in the fall (October / November) of each year.

2019-Larry Tarver
2018–John Pounder (Hinkley)
2017–Steve Finesilver (George Washington)
2016–Ed Gurule (Denver West)
2015–Dave Hall (Aurora Central)
2014–Jamie Woodruff (Douglas County, Ponderosa)
2013–Bob Beaty (Evergreen, Chatfield)
2012–Mark Swalley (Denver Christian)
2011–JR McMillan (Brighton) and Don Albers (Thornton)
2010–Jim Bratten (Pomona, Arvada, Standley Lake)
2009–Ed Stevens (Wheat Ridge, Chapparal)
2008–Tim McDougal (Holy Family, Jefferson, Arvada West)
2007–Gary Klatt (Pomona)
2004–Tom Hinton (Ranum) & Bob Hinton (Hinkley)
2003–Bruce Abeyta, (Kennedy)
2002–Sam Pagano (Fairview)
2001–Dominic Capra (Northglenn, Horizon, Legacy)
2000–Dick Yates (Denver South, Kennedy)
1999–Herman Motz (Thomas Jefferson)
1998–Ben Gregory family (Montbello)